Research Post #2

June 5, 2009 Amber

The American Council on Exercise (ACE) posted an article on their website about the new fitness trends for 2009. The article was posted on December 9, 2008. 

These are the 10 most popular fitness trends in 2009:  “boot camp-style workouts, budget-friendly workouts, speciality classes, getting back to basics, circuit training, kettle bells, boomer fitness, technology-based fitness, event or sport-specific exercises and mixing it up.”

Boot camp workouts are the most important because they work the whole body. Forty eight percent of ACE certified professionals said that gym memberships will decrease this year, while the other 52 percent said less people will hire personal trainers. Specialty classes involve dance movements like Zumba, which combines “South American rhythms with cardiovascular exercise. There is also Bollywood ballroom and Afro-Cuban dance exercises. Kettle bells resemble a cannonball with a handle. This also provides a total workout experience, by engaging multiple muscles as a group.

Boomer fitness is for individuals that are age 50 and over. These people have the money and time to exercise. Technology-based workouts include iPods,  Nintendo’s Wii Fit and Cardio Cinema. Sports or recreational activities will always remain popular despite the new and trendy workouts. Playing basketball or just running a marathon is always a good way to stay in shape. Lastly, the ACE suggests that you  mix your exercises up. For instance, “mixing low-intensity cardio with intervals on different days, and mixing high-volume, low- intensity weight training with low-volume, high-intensity training on alternate days.”

Entry Filed under: Research

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. marci10  |  June 5, 2009 at 6:54 pm

    I think your topic is very interesting. Due to the price of gyms, I am actually thinking about cancelling my membership at my gym. I currently belong to the Merritt gym in Baltimore City. I joined this gym because it was close to my home and had an outdoor pool in the summer. However, the gym is always crowded and costs me almost $100 a month for membership. I recently purchased an elliptical machine for my home so I could cancel my gym membership (I am waiting till the end of the summer to take advantage of the pool). So I found the statistic about how many people will cancel their membership very interesting.

    Another form of exercise that I believe a lot of people are looking into is Wii Fit and Wii active. These games give people a chance to do yoga, strength training, and other exercises at home. I actually own Wii fit and I am looking into Wii active. I think these types of games are useful but you need to make time and not just watch TV.

    Good luck with your research.

  • 3. Michelle  |  June 8, 2009 at 9:52 pm

    I belong to Gold’s Gym and I basically have just enough time to get my cardio workout in each day. I’d love to add weight training to my workouts, but there is always something else vying for my time. So, even my best intentions do not lend me to add this to my workout schedule.

    I’ve considering hiring a personal trainer to help me get more serious about incorporating weight training into my routine, but with cost being a factor, that is one expense I am not willing to take on when I know what to do with the weights at Gold’s. So, I do fall in the statistics you found where less people will hire personal trainers.

    Recently, the Gold’s Gym I belong to introduced Body Pump and Zumba as a way to meet new and potential member’s interest. Body Pump falls under the boot camp style workout which incorporates cardio and weights. Since Gold’s introduced these two new classes, I have seen new members who only come in and take these classes as well as members who have never taken any of the other classes attending. I would really like to try the Body Pump, but since I just had back surgery, I am unable to participate. Hopefully, I will be able take these classes and add more variety to my workouts in the near future, but I will not be giving up my gym membership any time soon.


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Pages

Categories

Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts

 
