Archive for July 29th, 2009




Reaction Post #10

Wow, I have learned so much about myself from this class. I need to focus more on time management. It seemed like the deadline crept up on me. Since I work two jobs I really had problems trying to meet the deadline for the blogs. I work both mornings and nights everyday.

Trying to find articles on new and emerging fitness trends was also a challenge. The closest thing I found to being new was the Hot Yoga, and I guess nobody really considered that new. Finding people to talk to for the reporting post was also hard. I mean if I couldn’t find any new fitness trends, then it was really no point in even looking for people to talk to. Then once I found a person, it was like I had to pull answers out of them.

It seemed like none of the editing software wanted to work for me and traveling back and forth to Towson just to get my stuff online was a true nuissance. Then once I got to Towson, none of my files would open up. My software programs were a different version from the one at Towson.

This class made me ask the question, “Do you really want to be a journalist?”

Add a comment July 29, 2009

Reporting Post #10

I found an article  on Fitness Trends website about the top 10 new fitness trends and topics for this year.

  1. The first one is “Buffet-Style” Fitness. Since there are so many options to choose from when it comes to styles of exercising, you shouldn’t limit yourself. The article suggests that you take, “take a spinning class, an adventure vacation, a Chi Kung course or a plain old walk around the block.”
  2. Pros In the Know is the second. Many trainers and instructors are becoming certified because the exerciser is now more educated on health and fitness. Some may even take up a specialty.
  3. The Way to Weigh Less (And No Nasty Side Effects). Researchers say that exercising the best, more effective and safest way to exercise. Diet pills offer too many side effects and risks of diseases.
  4. Getting Personal. The personal training business is seeing much success because people want that individual attention and skilled guidance. There is a personal trainer for everybody.
  5. Only the Strong Survive. Strength training is probably the most popular exercising trend. It has great benefits for men and women. “Stronger muscles generally mean better health, higher metabolism and slower aging, not to mention a better profile and a confidence boost.”
  6. More Mindful, More Meaning. Wellness and lifestyle programs like yoga, tai chi, ethnic dance and meditation help you focus and concentrate more. It also enhances personal growth and improves organizational skills.
  7. Convenience + Fun = Fit. More and more people are beginning to purchase exercise equipment for their home and planning outside exercising. Fitness classes have gone from an hour to 30 mins. People want to exercise when it’s convenient for them.
  8. Sporting Around. Sports conditioning and learning sport skills are becoming more popular, especially for women.
  9. Box, Cycle, Stretch. Another popular trend are classes that offer boxing, indoor cycling and even water fitness.
  10. How You Live, Not How You Look. The Baby Boomer generation are always in the gym, probably more than those that are younger them. They don’t care that they’re getting old, they just want to feel good. 

Add a comment July 29, 2009

Pages

Categories

Links

Meta

Calendar

July 2009
M T W T F S S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Posts by Month

Posts by Category